top of page
Search

Get It, Girl!

As with many people, 2021 was a wash of different emotions, as well as ups and downs. Being an entrepreneur, with my own business, it was even more insane. I spent most of the year working to build up my VA business. The problem was, I didn’t know exactly where I fit in. I did odd Upwork jobs, and got quite a few clients, but none of them really felt like “home”. That all changed very late in the year. I was on Upwork, and found a local construction company that was looking for a Project Manager. For someone who loves to be super organized, and grow my personal business, I went for it! Little did I know that I would find something that I could sink my teeth into, and really grow.


Once I started working with this client, it became clear that the construction industry was somewhere I needed to be. I was not just working, I felt that I had finally found an industry that I was passionate about. I learned so much, every single day. Best of all, this role allowed me to raise my beautiful daughter, and work anywhere I wanted to. Talk about freedom!


Speaking of freedom, this project manager job has not only grown to include helping with some interior design, but also let me set the exact hours I want to have, which allows me to give as much time to my family as I want. The key is that I need to plan each week out, as best I can. There are times when things come up, and I have to handle them, but I generally work from 7AM-4PM, then have nights and weekends with my family.


One of the most amazing things about finding this particular company is that they not only treat me like family, I truly feel valued, as a member of the team. Even though I am not going into an office every day, my coworkers and I are in constant contact, bouncing ideas off each other, and generally having a good time. I admit, I need to set better boundaries with my time, but that’s a topic for another post.


As I look at 2022, I’m filled with hope, and a fire of ambition like I’ve never known. I want to be seen as the go to VA for construction project management, and continue to scale my business, while helping to create trust, and value for this current client. When I titled this entry, I knew what I wanted to do in 2022. Simply put, it’s to get ‘er done, as Larry The Cable Guy says!


This new year is not just my year. It’s the year that I level up my business, create the life I want, and hopefully, share some of my own tips, tricks, and even some goofs with you, my readers. Not every day as a Project Manager is easy, especially in the construction industry, but if I can grow my business alongside my client’s, I will not just be happy, I will see 2022 as the year my family and I thrive! So, come take this journey with me. We will learn, laugh, and yes, sometimes cry together.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page